Book Review of Sad Cypress by Agatha Christie

About Author:

Agatha Christie is an English detective novel writer who has written 66 novels. She was born in 1890 in a wealthy upper middle class. After 6 consecutive rejections her first novel “The Mysterious Affair at Styles” was published in 1920, featuring detective Hercule Poirot. And from that onwards this detective plays a major role in solving all the crimes in her novels and short stories.

About Book:

Sad Cypress is 22nd book in the series of Hercule Poirot published in 1940. With limited characters we can understand the story quickly. The book is divided into three parts.

Part 1

This part starts with a mysterious letter sent to the main character and accused in a murder case Elinor Carlisle. Later on, other characters like fiancé of Elinor- Roddy, Aunt Laura, two nurses O’Brien and Hopkins, Dr. Peter Lord and the victim Mary Gerrard (one of the servants and dearest of Aunt Laura). Aunt Laura died without any will and all her money went to her next of kin Elinor. And as per her aunt wish she also gave some decent amount to Mary. Later on, Mary also died in a mysterious situation and the main accused was Elinor due to her jealousy about Roddy as he started liking Mary more.

Part 2

Dr. Peter Lord calls the detective Hercule Poirot to solve the case and get release the main accused Elinor. With lots of investigations, statements from the different members detective now knows that who is the real culprit. And he got it mainly from the lies of the characters not the truth.

Part 3

This is the most interesting part and mainly depicted the court room drama with questions and cross questions. And finally, when historical facts and real motive came to know, defense rest his case. Later on the detective tells the whole story to Dr Lord and how he manages to solve the case.

Overall, this is a great crime thriller which will keep you guessing about the murderer. And it can be a great book to start if you want to create the habit of reading as the story will keep you engage.

Buy this book